
 

 

 

 

May 1, 2025 
 

To: Virginia Aircraft Owner 
 

From: Greg Campbell  GWC 
 
Re: Aircraft Registration Changes Coming Soon 

 
The aircraft registration process will improve greatly later this year after the 
2025 General Assembly passed bipartisan legislation, which Governor 

Youngkin signed into law in March.  (Please note: While the law will change on 
July 1, 2025, these changes detailed below won’t take effect until sometime in 

the fall of this year.  Therefore, until we notify you that the changes are in 
effect, please continue to follow the existing fee schedule as we cannot accept 
the new fees and we can’t offer multi-year registration/renewal until all the 

changes are in effect.)   
 

First, instead of registering your non-antique aircraft each and every year, you 
will now have the option to initially register or renew your aircraft registration 
for one year, two years or three years.  And you will receive a discount for 

multi-year registration! 
 
Second, for the first time in 46 years, the aircraft registration fee is being 

adjusted.  For nearly five decades, the Virginia Department of Aviation has 
been subsidizing the aircraft registration process, which meant less money was 

available to support the 65 public-use airports in the Commonwealth.  This 
change will make additional funds available for airport improvements and 
enhancements. 

 
                                     Non-Commercial Single Commercial Single         Aircraft Dealer       Commercial Fleet 
     
Current Registration Fee $5                                      $10                                   $50                                             $75  
     
New 1-year Fee  $30                                       $40                                    $75                       $150  
      
New 2-year Fee  $55                                       $70                                    $125                        $250  
     
New 3-year Fee  $70                                       $95                                    $150                        $300  
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2-year Savings  $5                                     $10                                      $25                           $50  
     
3-year Savings  $20                                        $25                                      $75                          $150 

 

 
Third, the changes will enable the Department of Aviation to introduce a new 
computerized aircraft registration system that will include an online payment 

portal for those who prefer to pay with a credit card.  (Check and cash 
payments through the U.S. Mail will still be accepted for the foreseeable 

future.)  Registration renewal notices will be sent to you via email, and you will 
be able to go online to renew your registration and pay your fee all without 
worrying whether the U.S. Post Office delivered your paperwork and fee.  

 
Fourth, the legislation eliminates the need for a registration decal, which many 
aircraft owners complained about having to apply it to the aircraft and, thus, 

negatively impacting the aircraft’s paint when removing it.  Instead of the decal, 
you will receive an emailed letter/certificate that you can keep inside your 

aircraft as proof of compliance. 
 
Lastly, if your aircraft insurance or any other relevant information changes at 

any time during the aircraft registration period, please inform our Aircraft 
Compliance Office so that your record can be updated. 
 

The Virginia Department of Aviation is pleased to be improving the aircraft 
registration process to help save you time and money and to continue to 

ensure that the system of airports in Virginia is among the nation’s best! 
 
 

 
 


